Four medical associations representing more than 350,000 primary care physicians have issued new guidelines for patient-centered medical home recognition and accreditation programs.

The associations are the American Academy of Family Physicians, American Academy of Pediatrics, American College of Physicians and American Osteopathic Association. The joint guidelines seek to ensure some standardization among recognition and accreditations programs as they are developed.

The National Committee for Quality Assurance, Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care and URAC have developed programs and the Joint Commission expects to have its program in place by mid-2011.

All four organizations have received the guidelines, available here.

Goedert is the news editor of Health Data Management, a SourceMedia publication.

Follow EBN on: Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | Podcasts

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Employee Benefit News becomes archived within a week of it being published

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access